Special Delivery

Long day.

It was dark when I pulled in the driveway.

It was dark when I pulled out of the driveway.

Long day.

I exhale before releasing the seatbelt and prepare to enter the house.  Two warning beeps from my seatbelt and a flash zooms by me.  It is Ben.  He has seen me pull up in the driveway.  He is smiling.  Always smiling.  Waving and jumping and smiling.  He has my door open before I can reach for the handle.

“Hi Mommy!  I show you something.  Hurry!”

He runs back towards the house.  Back towards me.  Skip, jump, run,  I am not fast enough.

“Hurry!”

He can barely contain his excitement.

We rush to the kitchen table where he has been working hard on special surprises for special people.   Ben beams with pride and explains tells me about his hard work and who it is for.  The jumping continues.  The smiling has not stopped.  I hug him tight.  This is my boy.

Ben wants to know how to spell each of their names and then carefully writes,

L-O-V-E

B-E-N

on the bottom of each paper.

“Please we go now t their house?”

He gives me those eyes.  The ones I already know I cannot resist.  I try.  I explain it is late.  I explain they are probably eating dinner.  Maybe even getting ready for bed.  A tiny pinky comes out and he tries to make me ‘pinky promise’.  Well-played son.

Another look.

“Let’s talk about it Mommy.”

I’m sunk.  He had me at pink promise and we both know it.  We hop in the car and drive through the neighborhood.  Ben gets out at each person’s house, rings the bell, jumps, giggles, makes his special delivery, gives a hug, and gets back in the car.  And so it goes.  Tonight we made three special deliveries.

This is my Ben.  This is what Ben does.  He enters your world, brightens your day, and touches your heart.  He has no idea that HE is the special delivery.

My boy ❤
1-special delivery-ben

2 responses to “Special Delivery

Leave a comment